Maria from Brooklyn, NY

Single mother of two; working on my GED. A laptop for school would be a big help!

I want to finish my GED and find work to support my two boys. A laptop will let me do both much easier; it would make a big difference!

My need and situation

I am a 23 year old single mother of two little boys. I am currently working a temporary part time job and actively seeking new employment opportunities.

My goals are to get my GED so I can apply for better work opportunities to take care of my children.

I need a laptop as it will make it easier to continue & complete my GED program as well as my search for new employment that will help me provide for my kids.

If I am able to reach this need it will allow for me to be more accessible for jobs as I can constantly apply for jobs as well as be able to edit my resume as needed.

$0of $400


Be the first to help

28 days remaining



This need has been validated by PO Catapano from NYC Department of Probation

PO Catapano


Validated by PO Catapano from NYC Department of Probation (What does this mean?)

I know Maria as I am her Probation Officer. Maria has expressed to me her struggles with completing her GED program as well as her consistent searching for better employment opportunities. Maria continues to maintain part time employment but has no access to any computers other than at the local library which she can not always go to due to having to take care of her children as well. If Maria was able to get a working computer that she could easily access she would have a greater chance to make a better life for her family.

About PO Catapano

Probation Officer at New York City Department of Probation