Andre from Chicago, IL

I just got a job! All I need is transportation to get there.

I need bus fare to get to work for the first 3 months. With the money I earn, I'll be able to save up so that I can find stable housing.


I am a 45-year-old veteran and father of two grown girls. I am currently living with friends and recently was hired for a doorman position.

My goals are to become fully self-sufficient and find a place to live independently. I am eligible for housing but cannot afford the rent at this time.

I need bus fare to get to work. This includes $300 to provide me with three months of fare for public transportation through CTA.

Meeting this need will help me because having bus fare for three months will get me through the winter months and allow me to save my paychecks in order to obtain stable housing.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Andre fund this need.

$345of $335

Need funded!

5 supporters


This need has been validated by Morgan from Chicago Lights: Elam Davies Social Service Center

Recent supporters

  1. $50
  2. $10
  3. $35
  4. $200



Validated by Morgan from Chicago Lights: Elam Davies Social Service Center (What does this mean?)

Andre has been a guest at EDSSC for several years and is currently a participant in our Open Doors Project. I now meet with Andre every week for one-on-one sessions and he is timely and dedicated to working towards the goals we have set. He always has a smile on his face and a positive attitude. Andre has taken many steps towards independence in the past few months which include recently being hired as a doorman. I think meeting this goal is important because Andre needs to find housing by March 1, 2015. By receiving a three month CTA pass he will be able to save money and find stable housing.

About Morgan

My job title is Case Manager for the Open Doors Project. My work involves meeting with our participants in both weekly individual Case Management sessions and group support meetings. Together, we work on attaining individual goals like housing, employment, and personal discovery. What I like… Read more