Dio from Bronx, New York

Rebuilding after a mental illness diagnosis. W/ some living essentials I can thrive.

I'm determined to graduate college. Some basic living essentials would create a safe space at home to help me manage my depression and move forward.

My need and situation

I am a 21-year-old man. I am from the Bronx section of New York City. I've earned my GED in October of 2013. I aspire to attend a four-year college and study engineering. My main needs currently are materials for my home: bedding material, kitchen supplies, radio, and clothing. Once I get my home settled and a suit of clothes, I can have my basic essentials to be comfortable, and then I can devote my time to working on my goals of going back to school, getting a bigger apartment, and going on interviews for jobs.

My goals include but are not limited to begin attending college this year. I also plan on moving from my studio apartment into a bigger apartment. Currently, I'm living in a supportive housing unit in the Bronx. This apartment is and was a blessing, but I am not too comfortable with the environment and it constantly poses a threat to my emotional health. The plan to move is one of the most challenging plans I have had to face since living here thus far. Especially because I lost my employment 3 months ago. I was under a lot of stress at the time, and my depression and anxiety were elevating. But, I feel that presently I am in a better state of mind. My main ambition is to be the best I can be at whatever I am doing at all times. I ask Jesus Christ our lord and savior to lead me to the position he wants me in, not where I want to be. I am asking for financial assistance for my immediate goals, which will help me move forward. Buying clothes to go on interviews is very important, and also having proper bedding/kitchen items, and having a radio (I enjoy listening to music a lot; it helps my mood) would create a safe space home to help with depression and be able to move forward in my life.

One of my main needs currently is materials for my home. Due to my depression and anxiety I made a very impulsive decision to put my belongings inside of a storage unit and look for a different place to live. My depression had been so severe that it caused me to lose my job, my things inside the storage, and a lot of my clothes. Post-depression, I shed a lot of gratitude to the lord and Barrier Free Living because I was able to keep my place. Losing this studio would have been a devastating loss despite my feelings for it. So my main needs are bedding material, kitchen supplies, a radio, and clothing.

Meeting these needs will be a tremendous help because it will remove a lot of burden from my shoulders. I have three interviews coming for entry level jobs so I know I will survive (and getting clothes for future interviews would be helpful, and decent clothes once I do get the job). But I don't have my parents or family like everyone else due to me being gay. I am a 21 year old living in one of the most expensive cities in the world, on my own. It will give me the opportunity to use some of my energy on saving for a new apartment or to focus more on attending college. It will definitely boost my morale and make me more confident in fulfilling my dreams.

$0of $600


Be the first to help

32 days remaining



This need has been validated by Josephine from Barrier Free Living, Inc.



Validated by Josephine from Barrier Free Living, Inc. (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Dio for around 6 months as his social worker at Barrier Free Living, supporting him in reaching his goals and ambitions that he has set out to accomplish in life. He has survived previous difficult life circumstances, and is a determined and resourceful young man.

About Josephine

My name is Josephine, and I have received my license several months ago. I have been at Barrier Free Living for a little over half a year, and it is a great organization. It is making a difference in people's lives, and supporting their goals of greater independence and permanent housing. I really… Read more