Dennis from Tucson, Az

Survivor of cancer & epilepsy. I need a laptop to earn my degree in healthcare admin.

I need a laptop & the required software to do my homework at home. Without one, I'm forced to rely on the public library, which has limited hours.

My need and situation

I am a 56-year-old male who has epilepsy, who had bilateral hip replacement, and who is a cancer survivor. I am planning on attending Pima Community College this fall for training. I live off of my social security check which is not enough for me to get by on.

My goals are to go back to work very soon. I love helping people so I decided to go to school in order to become a Medical Office Specialist. I will be able to help people get the help that they need.

I need a laptop computer and the required software so that I can do my homework at home. Public transportation is my only source of getting around town and is time consuming for me.

Meeting this need will help me in that it will save me time in my day. I will be able to work at home after classes and not need to worry about missing the bus by staying late at school.

$0of $450

0%

Be the first to help

33 days remaining

Support

Validated

This need has been validated by Byron from Pima County One Stop Career Center


Byron

Validated

Validated by Byron from Pima County One Stop Career Center (What does this mean?)

I met Dennis while he was coming through the HPOG program through Pima Community College. He is currently in the process of getting assistance through varies agencies to be able to start his Medical Office Specialist program. Meeting this need will help Dennis in that he will be able to stay caught up with his studies and not have to worry about falling behind. He currently has to take 3 buses back and forth for his transportation and having to stay late at school to do his studies will be an extra burden on him. He will be very thankful for any help that he receive.

About Byron

I am a Workforce Development Specialist employed by the Tucson Urban League to work at the Pima County One-Stop Career Center. I am part of an inter-agency team providing career development services for adult job seekers. I assist participants to develop an individual employment plan based on an… Read more