Oday from Oakland, CA

I’m a refugee & father & newly employed. I need help with transportation to save money for my family

I live in Oakland and work in San Francisco. My commute is $37/week on BART + $80 monthly bus pass. Saving this expense will help my family.

Updates

Thank you from International Rescue Committee Jan 11, 2014

Samantha, Oday's validator from IRC, sent this note:

"Here at the IRC we were pleased to learn that Oday's need for transportation expenses was met! He has been working very hard at his new restaurant job and we know his need being met now could have not come at a better time. We want to say thank you so much to his two supporters. Your generosity and support cannot be commended enough. Thank you!"

Thank you from Oday Jan 10, 2014

We have received this note from Oday:

"I am so very happy that my need as been filled! I want to say thank you for everything! I am very, very happy and thankful!"

My need and situation

I need funds towards transportation, to help with my weekly commute to work. I spend around $37 a week on BART alone and my monthly bus pass is $80. This includes BART round-trip fare and a bus pass for one month. Meeting this need will help me because I can save a little more money for two months without going over our family budget.

My current situation is I just started a new job in San Francisco after some time of being unemployed since our arrival in the US. I am excited to be working and being able to provide for my family. I would like for my family to not be concerned about whether or not we can afford some things during the colder months, so I am looking to save on transportation costs for emergencies we may face in the coming months.

My goal is to transition as smoothly as possible for my family here in the U.S. by staying employed and providing for them. To continue on this path, since I am in the early stages of gaining employment it would be greatly appreciated to have a little assistance with my transportation costs.

I'm from Iraq, I moved to the United States six months ago. I live with my family in Oakland. I enjoy watching soccer games. I'm happiest when enjoying a good soccer match with my family. I'm most proud of being a hard-working provider for my family, especially during this transition in a new country.

I have two children, one daughter who is six and my son will be turning three this December. They, along with my wife, are my life! I am a hard-worker and enjoy fixing things. I was a plumber back home Iraq for twenty years, working alongside my father.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Oday fund this need.

$260of $260

Need funded!

2 supporters

Validated

This need has been validated by Samantha from International Rescue Committee (Nor-Cal, Oakland)


Recent supporters

  1. $35
  2. $225

Validated

Validated by Samantha from International Rescue Committee (Nor-Cal, Oakland) (What does this mean?)

We met when Oday and his family arrived at our office back in July. Oday enrolled in our employment program and from there he has been more than determined to gain employment and adopt skills to help him through his pursuit.

I think meeting this need is important because Oday will be able to manage his income with some ease. He noticed how much money he was spending this past month on transportation and how much he would be taking away from his household needs. He is looking to save a bit more during this transitional phase.

Oday is very patient and eager to make a better a life for his family. I can say through his struggles to gain employment he never gave up and felt defeated. He continued to attend our job readiness classes and to apply for jobs on his own. His continuous hard-work has definitely paid off!

About Samantha

My job title is Employment Associate. My work involves helping newly arrived refugees gain employment and financial comprehension within three to four months of their arrival. I assist them with building and revising their resumes, mentoring them on a course towards economic freedom through… Read more