Dominique from Oakland, CA

I am a mother & a student & am legally blind. I need contact lenses that will help me read & focus.

My goal is to become a Juvenile Probation Officer in order to make a better life for my four children. Lenses can help my Keratoconus.


I need contact lenses to correct for my Keratoconus. Meeting this need will help me because I will be able to better focus on readings and completing assignments in school.

My current situation is I have Keratoconus, which prevents me from seeing clearly. I am legally blind.

My goal is to complete school and received a Bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice and become a Juvenile Probation Officer.

I'm from Oakland, California, and I live in Alameda. Something interesting about me is that I can play violin! I'm happiest when I am spiritually and financially stable. I'm most proud of my family.

I have four children, ages 10, 6, and two 3 year old twins. We love each other very much, we're a big family. We have our ups and downs, but we always stick together.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Dominique fund this need.

$700of $450

Need funded!

11 supporters


This need has been validated by Erica from Beyond Emancipation

Recent supporters

  1. $35
  2. $35
  3. $100
  4. $10
  5. $100
  6. $200
  7. $10
  8. $170
  9. $35


Validated by Erica from Beyond Emancipation (What does this mean?)

We met when I was Dominique's case manager three years ago. I think meeting this need is important because Dominique has met every other goal in life while working with our agency. She has attained and maintained housing, and employment, all while raising her four children. Education is the only thing she needs support in and it would help her be even more dynamic than she already is.

Dominique is determined, motivated, strong and charismatic. She works very hard to have a stable and balanced life for herself and children. She is a role model to others and I believe supporting her education will give her the opportunity to give back to foster youth in a way that is important to her and a huge benefit to society.

About Erica

My job title is Transition Services Division Manager. My work involves supervising and supporting case managers who work with current and former foster youth, ages 18-24. What I like about my job is that I can be creative and have a leadership in how to best serve a population with such a need of… Read more