Fatou from Oakland, CA

I’m an immigrant & mother and I need a washing machine and dryer to save money and care for my kids

With the expense of the laundromat and transportation to and from, and the time it takes from my kids lives, it would help to do the laundry at home.


I need a washer and dryer for my home. I am not looking for anything new, I just need something that works! Meeting this need will help me because we will save money on transportation and doing laundry. I can take care of my home better without having to waste time waiting at the laundry mat. It would be one thing if it was me alone waiting, but my children always come with me and help. I would like for them to actually try to enjoy their adolescence as much as they can.

I will be very thankful if anyone could try to help us!

My current situation is our apartment has hook-ups for a washer and dryer set, but currently I cannot afford one. My family and I have been without one for 2-1/2 years. It cost a lot of money, especially when we have too much laundry, my kids and I have to carry everything back and forth to the laundry mat, or worse take a cab because it is too heavy.

My goal is to gain some peace and stability with as many things in my home as possible. When I get back on my feet with employment, I don't know what my hours will be, but if certain household needs are easily accessible and safer depending on the hours, I will have an easier time completing the tasks. I want to be able to spend more time, if possible, with my kids where they can actually just be kids and enjoy their weekend.

I'm from Guinea. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I care a lot about others and I'm happiest when my kids bring home good grades! I'm most proud of having the opportunities at points, to have a career that allowed me to meet many people from all backgrounds.

I have three children. My oldest son is fourteen, my daughter is eleven, and my youngest son is five years old. They are my world! My oldest is very supportive and caring towards his younger siblings. I am so thankful for his help. They make me proud everyday all I can ask for is that they are doing well and continue to be good people. Being a single mother I am very lucky they have one another to lean on and help guide towards a bright future.

At this point I am looking hard for employment to help continue to provide for my family. I want to be able to support them so that they can reach the levels that they want to be.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Fatou fund this need.

$560of $560

Need funded!

8 supporters


This need has been validated by Samantha from International Rescue Committee (Nor-Cal, Oakland)

Recent supporters

  1. $25
  2. $325
  3. $10
  4. $20
  5. $20
  6. $20
  7. $90


Validated by Samantha from International Rescue Committee (Nor-Cal, Oakland) (What does this mean?)

We met when Fatou joined our employment program in November. She is a very smart, ambitious, driven mother of three. Her first day at our office she was prepared to begin her job search. She is definitely a go-getter and a joy to work with.

I think meeting this need is important because Fatou is a single mother and her time with her three children is already spread thin. Additional help with household appliances would be appreciated. If the family is able to purchase a washer and dryer for their home they will be able spread out chores throughout the week in a safer environment rather than an entire weekend walking back and forth to the laundry mat.

About Samantha

My job title is Employment Associate. My work involves helping newly arrived refugees gain employment and financial comprehension within three to four months of their arrival. I assist them with building and revising their resumes, mentoring them on a course towards economic freedom through… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');