Fahma from Oakland, CA

I’m a mother with a baby on the way and we need a mattress & clothes for the children

We have recently come from Somalia and have a new baby coming. My husband is looking for work, but we need these things for the children.


I am a mother of two young boys and I am currently expecting my third. My young boys are the funniest and always getting in to something. It is never a dull moment with them.

I need a new mattress and some clothing for my children. This includes a full-size mattress, sweaters, socks and pants for my two boys. Meeting this need will help me because we can save more money once my husband finds work that we can use to provide for other household needs. My goal is to fund these areas so my husband can save money from any work he gets and we can purchase needs for the new baby. In the meantime, as my husband looks for work, clothing and bedding is something we need for the home and kids that we are struggling to provide for them.

My current situation is I am expecting my third child in the new year. At this time my husband is pursuing work, but there are some things we need for the house that will help before the baby arrives. The new mattress will work with a bed we already have but is not too comfortable. The boys are also growing and during these colder months they need some clothes that will help them stay warm when they wish to play outside.

I'm from Somalia and I live with my family in the Bay Area. Something interesting about me is I speak three different languages. I'm happiest when I see that my kids are happy. I'm most proud of my two boys. Everyday they amaze me!

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Fahma fund this need.

$505of $505

Need funded!

5 supporters


This need has been validated by Samantha from International Rescue Committee (Nor-Cal, Oakland)

Recent supporters

  1. $300
  2. $10
  3. $35
  4. $100
  5. $60


Validated by Samantha from International Rescue Committee (Nor-Cal, Oakland) (What does this mean?)

We met when Fahma and her family joined our Oakland office and Employment Program in September of this year. She and her husband began attending our Employment Readiness classes, ESL and worked closely with members of our Employment team on their resumes.

I think meeting this need is important because Fahma's family is growing and prior to the new addition, a new mattress and clothing for their two boys is needed. They are transitioning to their new life in America and are actively looking for employment, but until employment is found they realize that there are things that they need to provide for their sons that they cannot afford at this time.

Fahma is a great mother and his shown interest in all the services we provide pertaining to American workforce culture, understanding the U.S. Banking system and pursuing employment. She and her family would appreciate any assistance towards their needs at this time.

About Samantha

My job title is Employment Associate. My work involves helping newly arrived refugees gain employment and financial comprehension within three to four months of their arrival. I assist them with building and revising their resumes, mentoring them on a course towards economic freedom through… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');