Susan

I think of myself mostly as a giver. There is just something about empowering another human being that I find personally rewarding.

I'm currently incarcerated in a women's prison. Before prison, I was an elementary school teacher. In prison, I've worked at many jobs, including editing the newspaper here, as a seamstress, and currently I work part time as a GED teaching assistant. The most I've ever made per hour in prison is $1.25.

I went to school at Ohio University through a special college program for the incarcerated. Very few women participate in this program.

I'm most proud of...oh, I don't know where to begin. Even though I am here in prison, I have become free in so many other ways. I've survived so much in my life, and I think when I began this, I didn't realize all I needed to heal from. I'm a survivor of domestic abuse, sexual assault, alcoholism...I've grown spiritually, and I feel like there is so much I can now pass on to the younger women here. I'm proud that I haven't used this time to do time. I've tried to use this time to redeem myself, to leave prison as an addition, an asset wherever I go. 

Something interesting about me is that I love to write. I've written poetry, essays, and I love interviewing for our newpaper here, and I just wrote my very first play! My play is called, "I've Met My Match."


Needs listed

Susan from Chicago, IL

Need books to complete my master's degree in prison

Just finished my B.A. in prison and ready to start a master's program that will prepare me to teach other women in prison and change their lives. More

Validated by Alexis from Chicago Legal Advocacy for Incarcerated Mothers

$495of $480

Need funded!

13 supporters
Funded on 12/24/2012

Susan


Spread the word