Hector from Evanston, IL

I work full time & am moving to an apt closer to work. My kids need beds!

My kids need beds in the new place, which I can't afford even though I work full time. This will make it easier to support my autistic son.


"My baby is sleeping comfortably. Thank you!" Mar 15, 2016

What an incredible update from Hector's validator, Katie! Check it out:

"With Benevolent's help, Hector was able to purchase a bed for her two year old daughter. Her daughter had been sleeping in the crib, and not very well. Her new baby had been sleeping in bed with his parents, and none of them were well-rested either. Now the two year old has her own bed, the baby is in the crib, and mom and dad have their bed back. Everyone is happy and well-rested! Thank you Benevolent!"


I am a working mother of two young children. I work full time in the health care field and am working towards my goal of becoming a Registered Nurse. My 3 year old son is autistic and I also work hard to support him and meet his needs.

My goals are to move my family to a new apartment that is closer to my work and my son's early childhood program and support services. I do not drive and walking to work and school during Chicago winters has been very challenging.

I need furniture to furnish the new apartment. The home we are moving out of does not have appropriate beds for the children, and I would like them to have their own room in the new apartment.

Meeting this need will help me because I will be able to feel settled and secure in my new apartment. I will feel as though I have met my children's needs and am able to provide them with a secure environment to grow and play in.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Hector fund this need.

$100of $450

Need funded!

1 supporter


This need has been validated by Katie from Infant Welfare Society of Evanston

Recent supporters

  1. $100



Validated by Katie from Infant Welfare Society of Evanston (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Hector and her children since January. She is a part of our Home Visiting Program for 0-3 year olds, which she enrolled in due to concerns about her young daughter's development. At the time she was 16 months old and not walking. Since then, she has become a professional walker and is even running! Manita is a very dedicated parent who puts her children's needs before everything else. It would be wonderful for them to feel settled in a new apartment that is closer to the children's schools and social services.

About Katie

I am a Home Visitor at the Infant Welfare Society of Evanston. My job includes working with families with young children around child development and education. I also am a link to community resources for my clients. I love getting to know families on a deep level and working with them on their… Read more