Hector from Evanston, IL

Working full-time & need help getting a car seat for my newborn & bed for my 2 yr old

My newborn has taken over the crib, so my toddler now needs a bed! My full-time job as a caregiver doesn’t pay enough for these big purchases.


I am a single mother of 3 children ages 4 and under, including a 1-month old baby. My oldest child is autistic and my two year old has speech delays, so much of my time is spent in therapy with them. When I am not spending time with my children, I work full time as a caretaker.

My goals are to provide a happy and healthy life for my children. I would like to further my own career one day, but at this time I feel it is more valuable to my family for me to be spending quality time with them.

We live in a one-bedroom apartment and the new baby has taken over the crib where my two year old slept for the past two years. She needs her own bed to sleep in, and the baby needs some basic baby items like a highchair and car seat.

Meeting this need will help me because I will be able to accommodate all of my children in our small apartment for a few more years while I spend time with them.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Hector fund this need.

$350of $350

Need funded!

4 supporters


This need has been validated by Katie from Infant Welfare Society of Evanston

Recent supporters

  1. $50
  2. $150
  3. $100
  4. $50



Validated by Katie from Infant Welfare Society of Evanston (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Hector and her family for over a year now. Hector is a wonderful parent who dedicates all of her free time and energy to her children. She has advocated for them to receive early Intervention services and has done everything in her power to support their growth and development, putting her own education and career on hold. The family has a cozy apartment with room for all, but the new baby has taken over the crib from the two year old, and it would be wonderful for her to have her own bed.

About Katie

I am a Home Visitor at the Infant Welfare Society of Evanston. My job includes working with families with young children around child development and education. I also am a link to community resources for my clients. I love getting to know families on a deep level and working with them on their… Read more