Angel from Oakland, CA

My kids & I need a fresh start! Basics for our move will help us build a better life.

I need some basic items to keep my family stable as we move to Texas: a gas card, bedding sets for my sons and professional clothes for my interviews.


I am a 23 years a mother of two baby boys. My oldest is 2 and my baby is 9 months. After being in foster care in California for 15 years and spending 8 years in Oakland CA, I'm making a big move with my kids to Kileen, Texas.

When I get to Kileen, an affordable apartment is ready for me. I'm able to afford rent. I want to make a change and a difference in my kids' lives and mine by starting over. I am seeking jobs in Kileen and will be going to school.

I need some basic items to keep stability: a gas card to help me get to where I need to with my kids, bedding sets for my kids' beds, and some clothing and winter wear for the children. Also, for my job interviews, I need business clothes.

Meeting this need will help me start a new beginning with my children in a new state. It's important to me to have the thing we need and to be prepared for what I'm going to need in Texas. This need will help me be ready to build a better life for my family.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Angel fund this need.

$450of $450

Need funded!

6 supporters


This need has been validated by Kamela from Beyond Emancipation

Recent supporters

  1. $35
  2. $200
  3. $36
  4. $100
  5. $50
  6. $29



Validated by Kamela from Beyond Emancipation (What does this mean?)

I have known Angel through our transitional housing program. She has utilized our housing services for about 2 years now. She is diligent in providing the living care for her children and seeks to do more. She is currently transitioning out of our housing services into her own apartment. She has been working on this transition and needs help completing this goal. She is in need of clothing, necessities for the new apartment, and gas to obtain proper employment near her new place. Angel has been a responsible and caring mother who now is on her way to fulfilling the goal of independence.

About Kamela

My job title is Community Housing Coordinator. My work involves intensive case management with current, former and emancipated foster youth which includes employment and education, mental health referrals, and permanency planning. What I like about my job is that I can see young women and men… Read more