Lena from Evanston, IL

Single mom going to school. I need help with a security deposit to house my family!

Working hard to complete my education & find work. One security deposit will help me move my kids into a safe home.


I am a single mother of 5 children ages 0-12. I have had a long road of recovery from a car accident that I was in as a teenager. I am finally very close to completing my GED and hope to secure a good-paying job once I have finished.

My goals are to complete my GED and get a good job. I want to be able to work full time to support my children.

In the meantime it is very difficult to make ends meet and support my children. I have a wonderful community who has helped me with many things in life, but I am still struggling to pay the bills every month. I'm ready to move us forward into a good home, but I'm unable to cover the security deposit I need to pay in order to move in.

Meeting this need will help me because it will help to get me through the end of my GED classes and taking the test, and make sure that my children have a roof over their heads. It will help me be able to support my family until I get a good job.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Lena fund this need.

$490of $600

Need funded!

12 supporters


This need has been validated by Riunita from Infant Welfare Society of Evanston

Recent supporters

  1. $90
  2. $50
  3. $20
  4. $35
  5. $35
  6. $50
  7. $20
  8. $20
  9. $20
  10. $50



Validated by Riunita from Infant Welfare Society of Evanston (What does this mean?)

I have known Lena since the birth of her last child earlier this year. She enrolled herself in the Home Visiting program because she knew that it had been 5 years since the birth of her last child and that information about child development changes rapidly, and she wanted to provide the best possible start for her infant daughter. She has proven to be a loving and responsive mother, and is working very hard towards obtaining her GED and becoming employed.

About Riunita

I am the Family Support Specialist at Infant Welfare Society of Evanston. I work with parents and their children to reach their personal goals and their child's developmental goals. In helping parents with these goals I aim to help parents become self-sufficient.What I like about my job is that I… Read more