Rafael

Rafael from Bronx, NY

I learned recently I'm going to be a father! I could use help paying for essentials.

I'm only able to work part-time, while my girlfriend cannot work because of the pregnancy. Any help paying for the baby's things would be amazing.

My need and situation

I am a young 20 year old man who has recently found out that I will be a father for the first time. My girlfriend just completed high school, and we are both happy to be become parents. I have recently obtained employment with NYC Summer Youth Program for the summer season.

My goals are to find long term employment in order to provide for my unborn child. In the future I would like to have my own business. My main focus at the moment is to have all the essentials for my child when he arrives.

I need the essentials (Playpen, diapers, bottles, etc.). Unfortunately my girlfriend cannot work due to her pregnancy being high risk because of her young age. With my part-time job I can't afford these essentials.

Meeting this need will help me because I am able to save some of the money from SYEP in order to rent a room for me and my girlfriend. We want our own space for the baby as well.

$0of $400

0%

Be the first to help

69 days remaining

Support

Validated

This need has been validated by Noreen from NYC Department of Probation


Noreen

Validated

Validated by Noreen from NYC Department of Probation (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Rafael for a little over a year. He has tried to do his best trying to find a fulltime job, but no employer has gave him a chance. I have helped him try to go back to school, but he has been honest in saying school is not for him at the moment. I continue to encourage every time we meet in order to set an example for his unborn child. He shows motivation since finding out his girlfriend is pregnant.

About Noreen

I am a NYC Probation Officer who assists probationers in leading law abiding lives. My motivation comes from trying to help those who need it the most and need guidance in things that may be difficult at times.