Amanda from Chicago, IL

I'm free from a violent relationship. Now my son and I need furniture as we rebuild our lives

My son's outgrown his crib, & I need a small couch. I left everything behind when I left domestic violence, so these items will help as I rebuild.


Amanda's New Furniture is Helping Her & Her Son to Settle In! Feb 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your generosity. My son had been sleeping on the pull out couch for months, and it is so amazing have him in his own bed! We are so excited to settle into our home together.

A thank you message from Amanda: Dec 9, 2013

I'm very very happy!! I can't believe my son will finally have his own bed!


I need furniture for my new home--a toddler bed for my son, since he has outgrown his crib, and a small couch or loveseat.

Meeting this need will help me because as a single parent it is hard to find money available to put away for these needs. I had to leave everything behind in my old apartment because of my domestic violence situation and I need to rebuild and make my house a home again.

My goal is to use the money I would have spent on this furniture and put it into a savings account for emergencies.

I came to the United States a few years ago for school, on a basketball scholarship from Brazil. I was in a relationship that grew violent and had to become independent. I became a participant in The Cara Program so that I could get a job in my new home in the U.S. I have a toddler from that relationship and he and I have been in and out of assorted housing situations, but life has finally become stable. He is a growing boy though and he has outgrown his crib. Our new apartment move also happened faster than I thought it would, which did not leave us time to buy furniture.

I'm from Brazil, but I have been in the United States for the last few years. I live with my youngest son in Chicago. I have two sons--one that lives in Brazil and one that lives here with me in Chicago. I am doing the work now to bring my little family together.

I'm most proud of my strength. I have been through many trials, but I am still standing.

Something interesting about me is I am a semi-professional basketball player. I'm happiest when I am with my family and playing basketball.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Amanda fund this need.

$530of $530

Need funded!

14 supporters


This need has been validated by Lauren from The Cara Program

Recent supporters

  1. $25
  2. $30
  3. $25
  4. $10
  5. $50
  6. $25
  7. $25
  8. $200
  9. $50
  10. $35
  11. $55


Validated by Lauren from The Cara Program (What does this mean?)

Amanda and I met when she entered the program in May of 2012. She embraced our program completely and launched into an intensive job search that landed her a managerial position in a food service setting. Due to her DV history, however, she was forced to move around and readjust her life multiple times, but has always maintained a positive attitude and commitment to making life better for her and her young son.

I think meeting this need is important because it will give Amanda the opportunity to create a more calm and complete environment for her and her son. They have been forced to bounce around through living situations that many of us would rather not endure, and furnishing is a part of that.

About Lauren

My job title is Individual Development Specialist, a combination of a job coach and case manager. I have been in this position since September 2011. My work involves providing career coaching and generalized case management services for individuals who have just become employed to ensure progress… Read more