Kim from Charlotte, NC

I'm a displaced mother of two in need of help saving my family's belongings.

I moved to Charlotte after losing my Georgia home in a tornado. My family's things have been in storage ever since and now I need help moving it here.


I need help with moving expenses after losing my home in a tornado.

I'm working hard to make a home here for me and my family after having to relocate due the State of Emergency declared on the Georgia county I lived in.  My goal is to have my own place again and become self-sufficient again.Meeting this need will help because I will not lose everything I have worked so hard for.

I lost my job and haven't had a paycheck since the first part of the year. My salary went from $50,000 to my workfirst check of $236 monthly. I am currently living with family and need to have our belongings here with us.

I am a hard worker and very independent. I love to travel and I'm happiest when I am progressing. I have two children - a 4 year old son and a 21 year old daughter.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Kim fund this need.

$1730of $755

Need funded!

30 supporters


This need has been validated by Derrick from Urban League of Central Carolinas, Inc.

Recent supporters

  1. $100
  2. $100
  3. $10
  4. $50
  5. $10
  6. $20
  7. $20
  8. $35
  9. $10
  10. $270
  11. $20
  12. $10
  13. $20
  14. $35
  15. $20
  16. $20
  17. $495
  18. $5
  19. $10
  20. $100
  21. $200
  22. $10
  23. $50
  24. $35
  25. $20
  26. $35


Validated by Derrick from Urban League of Central Carolinas, Inc. (What does this mean?)

Kim is a customer in this month's Work First Program. I think meeting this need is important because she relocated to Charlotte and presently is living with her parents while she finds permanent housing. Getting the assistance to move her family's belongings will help her stabilize herself and her children.

About Derrick

My job title is DSS Job Readiness Program Instructor with Urban League of Central Carolinas. My work involves instructing a job readiness program specifically for individuals who are a part of the Department of Social Services Work First program. What I like about my job is the difference that… Read more