Keisha from Chicago, IL

My husband and I need a new bed for my daughter who has outgrown her crib!

We're moving into our first apartment, but we need a bed for our 4-year-old who's outgrown her crib. We can afford the move, just not the extra bed.


I need a new bed for my daughter who has outgrown her crib! This includes a single bed and bedding.

My current situation is that my husband and I are moving out of my mom's house. This is a huge exciting step for us as a family, but of course it has taken a bigger toll on our bank accounts. To make the move possible, we have had to put all of our money towards the basics like rent and a security deposit and moving fees. One thing we well need when move though is a bed for my daughter. She is just too big for a crib because she is now 4.

Meeting this need will help me because it was a challenge getting money together and I do not want to have to worry about using rental furniture services because I am still in the process of rebuilding my credit. I also want to make sure my daughter has everything in order. She starts school in the fall and we need to transition her into a big girl role.

My goal is to have a happy home with my family! If everyone has their own bed we can all be comfortable.

I'm from the suburbs of Chicago. I live in Dolton, Illinois.

Something interesting about me is I love scary movies.
I'm happiest when I am cooking; I would love to be a professional chef one day!
I'm most proud of how smart my kids are. I have two children, a four year old daughter and a one year old son.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Keisha fund this need.

$325of $225

Need funded!

3 supporters


This need has been validated by Lauren from The Cara Program

Recent supporters

  1. $50
  2. $75
  3. $200


Validated by Lauren from The Cara Program (What does this mean?)

We met when Keisha began receiving employment services from The Cara Program in April of 2013. Keisha is a very positive person and has made many steps forward since starting here; she has set goals related to working in food service and now works full-time in the catering department of a local Chicago chain. She has been living with her mother her entire life and is excited to get her first apartment in her adulthood as a newlywed, with her husband and children.

I think meeting this need is important because this bed will help shore up some basic necessities and make it easier for them to make their house a home.

About Lauren

My job title is Individual Development Specialist, a combination of a job coach and case manager. I have been in this position since September 2011. My work involves providing career coaching and generalized case management services for individuals who have just become employed to ensure progress… Read more