Laurita from Chicago, IL

I'm studying ecological restoration & need boots and rain gear to work.

To work outside I need steel toed boots and rain gear, which I can't afford without a job. This will help me support my son with my new career.


I am a people person, who enjoys making people laugh and feel good. I am energetic. I love to laugh. I am in a training to work program in Chicago. I am a mother of a 13 year old boy who I love dearly.

My goals are to pursue a further career in this field, i.e. ecological restoration, which is helping to restore nature to its original habitat. I want to find a church home, find permanent housing, and continue building a strong mother-son relationship. I do not believe this is just a job, but a career in which I get to help the environment, I really care about what I am doing.

I need work & rain gear including steel toed boots, water proof jacket and pants, and rain boots.

Meeting this need will help me because I will be able to work without getting soaked down in the rain, I will be safe, and these are required gear to work in my field.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Laurita fund this need.

$450of $450

Need funded!

14 supporters


This need has been validated by Nichole from North Side Housing and Supportive Services

Recent supporters

  1. $35
  2. $20
  3. $10
  4. $20
  5. $35
  6. $10
  7. $35
  8. $10
  9. $10
  10. $35
  11. $100
  12. $50
  13. $30



Validated by Nichole from North Side Housing and Supportive Services (What does this mean?)

Laurita started working with our agency several months ago. Laurita is very actively engaged with bettering herself and her son's life. Since her entrance into our program she has gotten off of the streets and into an interim housing shelter. Most recently, Laurita completed two weeks of unpaid orientation for the training program she is in. In order to move forward with the program and hopefully attain job placement, Laurita needs the equipment we are requesting. This will ultimately enable her and her son to find a permanent home.

About Nichole

My job title is Case Manager. My work involves providing comprehensive case management and crisis intervention to adults who are currently experiencing homelessness, imminently facing homelessness, and/or adults experiencing domestic violence. My goal is to help these individuals address barriers… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');