Aisha from Berkeley, CA

Mom entering a career in green energy. I need help with bus passes to my training.

I need some assistance paying for transportation to get to my career training program.


Aisha has completed her green energy training program! Jul 13, 2016

We received an awesome update from Aisha's validator Laura at Berkeley Food and Housing Project:

"Aisha has completed her Green Energy Training Service (GETS) and a Solar instillation training. She is currently actively looking for solar instillation jobs and inspiring other women to think about opportunities in the trades. Thank you for your support!"


I am a mother of 6, and I'm determined to enter a career in the growing industry of construction and green energy!

My goal is to be independent and be an example for other women that women can succeed in the construction industry. I was accepted to an 8 week long pre-apprenticeship program for women that will train me in construction, energy efficiency, and solar.

I need help with affording transportation to get to the training. I will need two adult 31 day passes to be able to get to and from the training. Having a pass will also help me to get to interviews so I can move right into working once I complete the training.

Meeting this need will help me because I can get the training I need to secure a job in construction and green energy. There is a high demand for people skilled in these industries and I will be able to get a job with a salary that allows me to support my family.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Aisha fund this need.

$155of $150

Need funded!

3 supporters


This need has been validated by Maria from Berkeley Food and Housing Project

Recent supporters

  1. $20
  2. $100
  3. $35



Validated by Maria from Berkeley Food and Housing Project (What does this mean?)

I have been work with Aisha to help her find employment so that she can support herself and children, as well as get her own place to live. Aisha is dedicated to bettering herself and her situation. Aisha is a strong and determined woman whom I know will use this training opportunity to move forward with her career.

About Maria

I am a Shelter Plus Care Case Manager. My program serves adults who are homeless and disabled. I work with them to locate and secure housing in the area. Once housed, I work together with the client to retain their housing and thrive. The participants I work with motivate me. Their stories, their… Read more