Stefanie from Los Angeles, CA

Getting a job. Need security deposit to move into my own home and bring my daughters home

A security deposit will help me take the first step in getting a new apartment and starting a new life with my daughters, who will be able to join me.


I need $700 to pay the security deposit for a new apartment. This includes all the upfront costs associated with moving into a new apartment.

Meeting this need will help me because it will help me take the first step in getting my new apartment. Without the money for a security deposit, I will not be able to start my new life with my daughters.

I have been working with a wonderful job placement counselor and shortly I will have a job that will make my family proud. The $700 security deposit is the next major step towards regaining stability in my life.

I am a 30-year-old mother of two girls, born in Boyle Heights, in East Los Angeles. For the past six years, I have been basically homeless, going from place to place, sleeping on couches of friends or riding the buses all night just to stay out of the cold. My two beautiful daughters were taken away from me because our living conditions were so unstable.

I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel and I have had the support to help me put my family back together in a nice, safe home.

Right now, my biggest challenge is finding a job and a new apartment, so my daughters can come back home to stay with me.

I think of myself mostly as a good mother of two beautiful daughters.

I'm most proud of my struggle and the progress I've made to take my life back into my own hands.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Stefanie fund this need.

$880of $775

Need funded!

21 supporters


This need has been validated by Sally from PATH

Recent supporters

  1. $100
  2. $25
  3. $50
  4. $50
  5. $100
  6. $100
  7. $50
  8. $50
  9. $50
  10. $25
  11. $25
  12. $13
  13. $10
  14. $50
  15. $25
  16. $25
  17. $52
  18. $5
  19. $50


Validated by Sally from PATH (What does this mean?)

I have known Stefanie since August 17, 2012. She is a resident at the homeless facility, People Assisting the Homeless, where I work.

I think meeting this need is important because as a mother of two children Stefanie needs assistance. Through a series of bad decisions, she lost everything, and her children where taken away from her. I believe she loves her children and would like to get them back to live with her when she has successfully gotten a job and can afford an apartment. Through her time here at PATH she has gained confidence, and is going out on job interviews. With support she can succeed.

This will move the recipient's life forward by providing a safety net where she can regain stability to care for her children in an adequate manner. Stefanie has a sweet soft-spoken manner. She is always helpful, and pleasantly willing to do her chores around the facility.

About Sally

My job title is Resident Associate at PATH West Los Angeles. I have been in this position since 2006. I am a Resident Associate, meaning I make sure the residents have what they need, and keep the facility clean. With my other hat I am the volunteer coordinator for our Westside PATH facility. I… Read more