Anita from Chicago, IL

Need welding gear and gas cards as I train to be a welder and provide for my kids.

If I can continue to get to my classes, appointments, and purchase safety equipment I can get the job I trained for and take care of my daughters.


Thanks from Anita: May 3, 2013

I want to thank you all for assisting me in getting my PPE (Personal Protective Equipment) for welding. It has been a great help to be able to go to welding job interviews having my own gear. I am job hunting now, so hopefully I will be employed soon. I am doing well. All I need is to get a job, there is so much more I want to do once I do get a job. I really appreciate what all of you do, honestly I am grateful. God Bless You!

Update from the Benevolent Team Mar 27, 2013

Jane Addams Resource Corporation has let us know that Anita's received her welding gear and gas cards!


Right now, my biggest challenge is I have a car but I don't have enough income to drive back and forth five days a week, aside from my weekend visits with my thirteen year old daughter. Public transportation doesn't get me from place to place in time.

Meeting this need will help me because it would help me to make it to my classes, appointments, continue my parent groups, trauma recovery, therapy and not have to cut anything out which all are part of reaching my career goals and self-sufficiency.

I need a welders kit. This includes auto strike helmet, flame retardant weld jacket, gauntlet style weld gloves, metatarsal safety boot, head cover beanie. Also need four $25 gas cards to get to training for one month. 

Meeting this need will also help me achieve future goals because it will encourage me to keep moving forward with the ability to address all current needs. I will have more hope for a better future for myself and my children.

I am a single, unemployed parent living in subsidized housing. I am currently completing a ten week welding training program at the Jane Addams Resource Corporation. I have goals to reach the status of independent living and self-sufficiency. I am currently struggling with my transportation, juggling appointments, parent groups, therapy, trauma recovery group, children school times, and babysitting. I also help my grandma with her shopping each week.

I started working at a very young age, so I have potential. I had a rough childhood and I am striving for my children to not live through what I lived through. I don't want them to have it so hard. I want to be able to offer them a better education and be a positive influence on them. I think of myself mostly as a strong person. I have a strong personality. I don't like to give up on anything.

I'm most proud of my life today and my children. I live with my four year old daughter. I have visits with my thirteen year old daughter every weekend. Despite the bad decisions I made before, I am a better parent today and more focused on a positive life style.

I got my GED in Puerto Rico and attended a little bit of college there. I've been in a few job readiness training programs. I also completed a program at United Cerebral Palsy of Greater Chicago on Direct Service Provider.

I've worked at jobs including being a parent leader in the community, as a teacher's aide, and in construction and remodeling since I was a teenager. I've also worked as a machine operator. I've done everything from scrubbing toilets to ceilings.

I am very family-orientated. I try to visit everyone different weekends. I also cook for the holiday - Thanksgiving, Christmas. I invite every single person who doesn't have a seperate family to spend the holidays with. I also throw all my kids' birthday parties at my house - three months in a row: February, March, and April

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Anita fund this need.

$460of $460

Need funded!

9 supporters


This need has been validated by Emily from Jane Addams Resource Corporation

Recent supporters

  1. $25
  2. $25
  3. $25
  4. $125
  5. $50
  6. $5
  7. $5
  8. $100
  9. $100


Validated by Emily from Jane Addams Resource Corporation (What does this mean?)

Anita first came to JARC this summer. She was interested in our training programs but first needed to work on her math and reading skills. She attended our tutoring program for a few months and worked on her skills. She showed determination, and was able to improve her math and reading skills enough to be accepted into our welding training program. She started the welding program at the beginning of this month.

I think meeting Anita's need is important because the welding equipment is required for most welding jobs. Without this personal protection equipment, Anita may not be able to start working as soon as she finishes the training program. She is working very hard in training, and I would hate for her to be held back just because of equipment. 

Anita is working very hard on herself and her welding skills. She participates in counseling and parenting groups, in addition to training. It is difficult for her to make all of these necessary appointments with the high price of gas. She works hard to try to make all her classes on public transportation, but with the transportation schedules, it is difficult for her to make things on time and still transport her children to where they need to be.

She is very dedicated to her family and working to improve her life. She is focused on learning a trade so she can get back to work. Once she is working as a welder, she will be able to better provide for herself and her children.

About Emily

My job title is Senior Program Coordinator. I have been in this position since September 2009. My work involves coordinating our welding training program and overseeing our tutoring and Bridge program. At JARC we try to help people get the education, training, and supportive services they need to… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');