Gabby from Bronx, NY

Single mom ready to earn my bachelor's degree. With a basic laptop, I can get there!

I have recently moved into my new apartment after living in an emergency shelter. I want to earn my degree to provide a better future for my kids.


Hi, my name is Gabby, and I am a 27-year-old single mother of a 4 year old and am expecting another in a couple of weeks. I have recently moved into my new apartment after living in an emergency shelter for just over a year and am ready to reenter the workforce so that I can be a good role model for my children.

Presently, the goals that I am working towards are to go back to school so that I can obtain my bachelors degree and move on to higher education. I have already applied to several schools and am waiting for their response.

At this time, I am looking for help in buying a laptop so that I may be able to do work from home so that it can be easier to balance being both a mother and a student.

With an affordable laptop, I will be able to give my children the attention and care that they need, while still being able to do the work that is expected of me to perform at a high level.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Gabby fund this need.

$700of $700

Need funded!

15 supporters


This need has been validated by Samuel from Barrier Free Living, Inc.

Recent supporters

  1. $49
  2. $50
  3. $10
  4. $35
  5. $10
  6. $50
  7. $50
  8. $20
  9. $20
  10. $50
  11. $50
  12. $35
  13. $100
  14. $71



Validated by Samuel from Barrier Free Living, Inc. (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Gabby over the last few months within our transitional housing program to connect and help her navigate through the various services provided throughout the city so that she can be better prepared for independent living. I work with Gabby on a weekly basis and have loved her motivated, fast-paced progress over the last couple of months. I believe that this goal would really help her move towards her goals of achieving a higher education and being a productive role model for her children.

About Samuel

I am a Social Worker in NYC, working with single-parent families and survivors of domestic violence. At our supportive housing program, we help connect our tenants to various mental health and vocational services, as well as, offer groups and individual counseling to help assist our tenants to… Read more