Erick from Chicago, IL

The Bloom Firm will match every dollar in support of Erick's need!

I need welding gear to finish my certification, save for a home, and support my mom. The gear will make it easier for me to be self-sufficient.


Message from Erick Jul 18, 2013

Hello donors, I wanted to give an update about my situation and continue to ask you for your help in purchasing my welding gear. I successfully graduated my training program with credentials and a forklift license. I got a welding job and I have had this job now for over a month. I am doing primarily MIG welding with stainless steel and copper. I am enjoying my job and grateful I have this opportunity for advancing my welding career. My goal now is not to relocate to Indiana but to stick around the Chicago area because I have a job and can continue to take care of my mother. It is still very important for me to purchase my own welding gear. At work, we have to rent our own gear and it would be great if I had my own. Because I am still a new employee and in my probationary period, I am making an entry level wage and cannot afford my own gear. Since I was out of work for 2 years before this job, my paychecks are going solely to past bills and supporting my mother. Any assistance is appreciated and having my own gear would increase my feeling of independence and self sufficiency.


I need welding gear to complete my certification and get a job. This includes welding helmet, welding jacket, welding gloves, steel toed boots, an eye exam, and prescription welding glasses.

Meeting this need will help me because it will be easier to get a job in my field if I get all of my Personal Protective Equipment to the job I will one day get hired on to.

I am good with money, so when I start working I plan on saving $100 a week. This will help me save up for a better home. My goal is to move to Lafayette, IN to get a job because the cost of living and start rate for welders is higher than Chicago. I can start to send money back to my mother in Chicago because she is living on social security and it is not enough.

My current situation is that I am unemployed and training at Jane Addams Resource Corporation for my welding certification. I sometimes go out with friends to scrap metal through out the weekend to get by. I also free lance as a fence fabricator for small independent contractors.

Right now, my biggest challenge is living at home and being unemployed. I do not have a car to be able to get to jobs that I've been hired on to because it is not accessible by public transportation.

I've worked at jobs including Wrought Iron Fence fabrication jobs, such as railings, security storm doors, and chainlinks.

Something interesting about me is I like to help others in need because I feel that to help others it comes back to you in ways you don't expect.

I think of myself mostly as an organized person. I do what I say when given a chance.

I'm most proud of being determined. I had gained weight due to a medical condition and since then I have worked hard to lose that weight. I went from 343 pounds to 260 pounds.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Erick fund this need.

$785of $780

Need funded!

30 supporters


This need has been validated by Emily from Jane Addams Resource Corporation

Recent supporters

  1. $25
  2. $10
  3. $5
  4. $25
  5. $10
  6. $50
  7. $20
  8. $25
  9. $15
  10. $25
  11. $25
  12. $25
  13. $56
  14. $5


Validated by Emily from Jane Addams Resource Corporation (What does this mean?)

I have known Erick since he enrolled in JARC's Bridge program in February of 2013. He then advanced into the welding training program through hard work and determination.

I think meeting this need is important because Erick is determined to get off of unemployment and find a steady and stable job.

This will move Erick's life forward by financially helping him to feel more prepared on the job.

Erick is a motivated individual with a great sense of humor and a willingness to help other classmates out when needed. He is excited to get back into the workforce!

About Emily

My job title is Employment Services Manager. I have been at Jane Addams Resource Corporation since June 2010. My work involves preparing JARC's Manufacturing Program trainees for work by assisting with resume and cover letter writing, mock interviews and other work readiness barriers. What I like… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');