Marcus

Marcus from Queens, New York

I want to work as a building super in NYC; all I need is tuition for a safety course!

It would be a chance to move into my own apartment with my kids. I've spent 10 years assisting other supers. I'm ready; I just need to be certified.

My need and situation

I am 35 years old and a single father of two kids. I've been trying to get a job as a certified superintendent in New York City. I have 10 years of experiencing working with other superintendents throughout New York City but in order to be a superintendent of a building, I need to complete a certification course.

My goal is to find employment as a certified superintendent in New York City so that I will be able to provide a better housing situation for me and my two kids. I currently live with my aunt in a small 2 bedroom apartment in Queens NY. Becoming a superintendent will allow me to move out of my aunt's apartment.

I need to complete 31 hours of a Fire and Life Safety Director Course. Once I complete the course and obtain my certificate, I will be able to be hired as certified superintendent for residential or office buildings.

Meeting this need will help me because this certification is critical in obtaining employment as a superintendent. I have years of on-hand experience, but I am missing this certification and without it prospective employers will not grant me an interview.

$70of $550

12.727272727272727272727272730%

2 supporters helped so far

13 days remaining

Support

Validated

This need has been validated by PO Phillip from NYC Department of Probation


Recent supporters

  1. $35

PO Phillip

Validated

Validated by PO Phillip from NYC Department of Probation (What does this mean?)

Marcus has been on Probation with us for approximately 1 1/2 years. During these years he has been compliant and putting forth all effort to successfully complete Probation. He appears to be eager and enthusiastic to obtain his superintendent certification and he continues to be devoted father.

About PO Phillip

Probation officer, I've been a probation officer for 1 year and I enjoy helping people