Rebecca from Chicago, IL

I am a mother of two wonderful children and I need a toddler bed and school supplies

A bed and bedding for my toddler and school supplies for my kindergartener will help my children get good rest and be a prepared student.


Update from Rebecca! She now has her furniture, check out her video for more: Sep 27, 2013


I need a toddler bed for my daughter and school supplies and uniforms for my son. This includes a toddler bed, mattress, sheets, kindergarten school supplies and school uniforms. 

Right now, my biggest challenge is finding employment. I am applying to places on a daily basis, but it is hard to get interviews. Because of my background, a lot of places don't want to give me a chance, even though I have really changed.

I would be so grateful for this help. As soon as I am financially stable, I want to be able to help someone else. I can't imagine how excited my daughter will be to get a toddler bed, especially if it is a Dora the Explorer bed. She loves girly things.

My current situation is I am a mother of four children who recently lost her job and is unemployed. I need help providing a toddler bed for my daughter and school supplies and uniforms for my 5 year-old son who is about to attend Kindergarten for the first time. I hope to have a job soon, but I need to start getting his supplies right away.

Meeting this need will help me because I won't be as financially stressed out as I am. It would make such a difference in my children's lives. No one has ever helped me before, and I've felt like I was really doing everything on my own, and to know that there are people out there who might help means a lot to me.

I think of myself mostly as a strong and dedicated person. I think I am a very good mother and a very optimistic person for my future and my kids' future.

I'm most proud of my kids because they really help me to know that I can overcome my addiction. I stopped because of them. I have been clean since 2008. I'm also proud of my sobriety and the changes I have made in my life.

My goal is to become a paralegal. I started school in 2011 and was getting straight A's in school. But I couldn't keep up with the tuition, and they said I couldn't complete the program until I could afford to pay for the entire program. Knowing that I won't have to pay for these costs will help me to save money so I can go back to school and live my dream of becoming a paralegal.

I've worked at jobs including as a receptionist, case management worker, administrative assistant, and things like maintenance. I am always willing to do anything to support my family.

Something interesting about me is that I love to help people. I have a passion for it.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Rebecca fund this need.

$460of $460

Need funded!

13 supporters


This need has been validated by Alexis from CLAIM (Chicago Legal Advocacy for Incarcerated Mothers)

Recent supporters

  1. $5
  2. $50
  3. $10
  4. $25
  5. $35
  6. $25
  7. $25
  8. $50
  9. $25
  10. $35
  11. $25
  12. $125


Validated by Alexis from CLAIM (Chicago Legal Advocacy for Incarcerated Mothers) (What does this mean?)

I have known Rebecca since 2012. She has repeatedly demonstrated her sweetness, her dedication to her children, and her drive to make a better life for herself and her family.

I think meeting this need is important because Rebecca deserves a chance to make a new life and to know that people do care about her. When I told her about, Rebecca cried and said that she couldn't believe that people would be willing to help her. She has been through so much abuse in her life, so many obstacles, but she is moving forward and doing so well.

This will move the recipient's life forward by removing one more source of financial strain. I know that Rebecca would be willing to go without food for herself so that her children could have what they needed, but she shouldn't have to take such measures. This will allow her to concentrate on getting back on her feet and pursuing her dream of becoming a paralegal.

If you could meet her, you would smile. She is so optimistic in the face of barriers. She is so grateful for every chance and opportunity she gets.

About Alexis

My job title is Pro Bono and Staff Attorney. I have been in this position since April of 2012. My work involves helping incarcerated mothers, formerly incarcerated mothers, and the caretakers of their children. What I like about my job is I get to see families brought together. In the future, I… Read more