Morgan from Charlotte, NC

1st college grad in my family. Now need help with car repair to keep my son safe as I job hunt.

I need a new battery and inner tire rods for my '01 Honda Accord to make sure my son and I have safe and reliable transportation for work and school.



I've been wanting to go back to school and work full time without worrying about being late or having car trouble.  I'm in the Urban League job readiness program now and know that once I complete it, I will need reliable transportation. Meeting this need will allow me to feel worry free about breaking down with my son in the car. I will also not have to rely on the bus as primary transportation which will open up my possibilities of full time work.

My son and I recently moved here from Ohio after I graduated college to try and get a job and fresh start in a warmer/growing area. I'm currently still driving the car, because it's the only mode of transportation I have. However, I don't feel safe in it. 

I'm originally from Oberlin, Ohio and have a strong passion for helping the elderly. I'm happiest when I'm helping someone in need. I'm most proud of being the first in my family to graduate college.

I have a 5 year old son and we're both trying to adjust to this fast paced city. I'm looking forward to becoming a CNA or MA and helping people in need and making others happy.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Morgan fund this need.

$290of $290

Need funded!

5 supporters


This need has been validated by Derrick from Urban League of Central Carolinas, Inc.

Recent supporters

  1. $25
  2. $20
  3. $35
  4. $210


Validated by Derrick from Urban League of Central Carolinas, Inc. (What does this mean?)

Morgan was assigned to our Program through the Work First Program. I think meeting this need for Morgan will help her return to work and create a stable life for her and her son. 

Morgan is a person of strength and has a good work ethic. Having reliable transportation would be a giant help for her.

About Derrick

My job title is DSS Job Readiness Program Instructor with Urban League of Central Carolinas. My work involves instructing a job readiness program specifically for individuals who are a part of the Department of Social Services Work First program. What I like about my job is the difference that… Read more