Rakeem from Charlotte, NC

I've been a barber for 20 years. I moved, so I need to get certified in NC to work.

I've always been a barber, but I moved. I need the application fee for barber school in my new city, so I can get certified and work in my new state.


I'm from New York. Now I live in Charlotte. Something interesting about me is I overcame urban life's expectations. I'm most proud of accomplishing my GED. I have a seven-year-old daughter that I'm a single dad for. I'm trying my hardest to raise her up the right way. She is my bundle of joy. She helped me in turn from being a boy to becoming a man. My life has been a roller coaster. I had a lot of ups and downs. Now my faith is strong and I'm more in focus on what needs to be done so I can be a productive member of my community.

With my license, I will be able to work toward accomplishing my dream of running and operating a full-service salon.

I need the application fee for Paul Mitchell barber/beauty school. My current situation is I just moved here to Charlotte from New York in August, and I've always been a barber in my life. Now I can't work without the necessary hours and certificate.

Meeting this need will help me because I will be able to acquire the necessary hours and be able to work towards my dream to be a licensed beautician/barber. I am very grateful and very thankful for any and all the help I can receive. And may God be with you.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Rakeem fund this need.

$115of $115

Need funded!

1 supporter


This need has been validated by Robert from Urban League of Central Carolinas, Inc.

Recent supporters

  1. $115


Validated by Robert from Urban League of Central Carolinas, Inc. (What does this mean?)

We met when Rakeem showed up for my job-readiness course. I think meeting this need is important because it will help to put him on a path back to doing what he loves. Rakeem is a dedicated and ambitious individual. He will seize this opportunity and run with it.

About Robert

My job title is Program Coordinator. My work involves teaching a four-week course on job-readiness. What I like about my job is helping people gain independence and pursue their career goals.