Melissa from Inkster, MI

Working again after losing my job 4 yrs ago! I need beds for my growing teenagers.

I'm a single mom raising two teenage boys and a young girl I recently took in. I just started working again but can't purchase beds for everyone with my budget.


We have an update from Starfish Family Services about Melissa! Sep 9, 2014

"Melissa was able to obtain one mattress and bed frame from a family member so she only had to buy one mattress set and frame for her other son. In the meantime, Melissa's truck needed major repairs in order to safely get her back and forth to work on a daily basis. The remainder of the funds were used to buy parts and labor for these repairs. Melissa is very grateful for the help and is relieved that her boys have comfortable beds to sleep on and she can continue getting herself to work."


I am a single mother with two teenage boys in the home. My youngest son has disabilities both emotional and educational. I am the sole supporter of my family with a very limited income. I also recently became the caregiver of a teenage girl who is dependent on me for her financial needs.

My goals are to be able to get caught up with my bills due to being unemployed since 2010. I am now working and trying to payoff debts and pay for living expenses for myself and my children.

I need beds for my children. My oldest son's bed is very old and needs to be replaced. My youngest son does not have a bed at all and has been sleeping with me or on the floor or couch. The young lady in my home does not have a bed to sleep on either.

Meeting this need will help me because I can't afford to buy beds and pay all my monthly bills. It will help me because I will know that all the children in my care will have a safe and comfortable place to get a good nights sleep.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Melissa fund this need.

$566of $560

Need funded!

16 supporters


This need has been validated by Trisha from Starfish Family Services

Recent supporters

  1. $80
  2. $35
  3. $20
  4. $100
  5. $10
  6. $20
  7. $50
  8. $50
  9. $35
  10. $1



Validated by Trisha from Starfish Family Services (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Melissa and her family for a month as their case manager through Lifespan Clinical Services. I have been assisting the family in finding new housing, furthering the education of the oldest son, and coordinating with CPS regarding the teenage girl living in the household. I continue to help them with additional needs as they arise. It would be great to see them get these beds so that the family's financial burden is somewhat relieved.

About Trisha

I am a Case Manager for Lifespan Clinical Services through the agency Starfish Family Services. Previously I worked for Starfish in the Head Start program. Currently my work involves working with adolescents with a mental health diagnosis and their families. I assist the family in achieving their… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');