Monica from Charlotte, NC

I'm doing the best to support my family, but need help with a car to maintain my job

I need assistance getting a down payment for a vehicle so I can maintain my current employment.


I am a single parent attempting to get ahead in life. I am also the caregiver of my disabled brother who suffers from cerebral palsy and chronic lung disease. I have cared for him since I was 19. My daughter and brother mean the world to me.

My goals are to maintain my employment so that I can continue to care for my daughter and my brother. Being in position to continually provide for my family is so important. I want to be in position to not only help my family but also help others as well.

I need assistance getting a down payment for a vehicle. My 75 year old grandfather is currently transporting me daily and it is starting to have a toll on him. I am in need of a vehicle so that I can keep my current job. I had to turn down other employment opportunities because I do not possess a vehicle. In November, I lost everything due to having to have an emergency procedure performed to prevent the spread of cancer. In April, I was able to secure employment and I love it! My current barrier is continuing to make it to my place of employment.

Meeting this need will help me because I don't want to lose my job from lack of transportation and have my family go through a hardship of homelessness again. I want to continue to be in position to work and provide the necessary care for my loved ones.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Monica fund this need.

$741of $780

Need funded!

8 supporters


This need has been validated by Leah from Grace-Mar Services Inc.

Recent supporters

  1. $150
  2. $25
  3. $100



Validated by Leah from Grace-Mar Services Inc. (What does this mean?)

I met Monica at a job fair. She was desperately seeking employment. She had currently gone through some things in her life that put her in a rough spot. Upon her healing from her surgery, we were able to refer her to several of our agencies. She was able to land employment with one of them. She has had to move four times this year already. She is currently striving to keep her employment so that she does not have to uproot her family again.

About Leah

I am the Job Developer/Recruiter for Grace-Mar Services. I started as a volunteer in September of 2012, and have been an employee since June 2013. My work involves contacting and scheduling candidates for interviews and assessments; creating and posting available job listings; making necessary… Read more