Lahuma from Staten Island, New York

I'm enrolled in AmeriCorps. With a laptop I can finish & earn credit towards tuition.

I want to get my degree and work in healthcare. With a laptop I can finish this program and start school!


I am a 24 year old single mother of three. I aspire to one day return to college to obtain a bachelors degree in health. I foresee the need for health professionals due to the issues we're currently facing. I would like to be someone who can assist those in need of care. I also want to be a positive role model for my children, who drive me to do better.

My goal is are obtain a bachelors degree in health, make a better life for my children and myself, and help those in need of healthcare.

I need a laptop due to the program I am currently enrolled in (AmeriCorps). Due to my duties I am required to complete my assignments online. Obtaining a laptop with the limited funds I have is not possible. I also would be able to enroll in a online school to obtain a degree.

Meeting this need will help me because the program (AmeriCorps) offers several vital services and is a 9 month program which I very much would like to successfully complete . Upon completing this program I would be afforded with an educational reward to pay for tuition for higher learning. Also they provide job placement among other services.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Lahuma fund this need.

$400of $350

Need funded!

1 supporter


This need has been validated by Verona from NYC Department of Probation

Recent supporters

  1. $400



Validated by Verona from NYC Department of Probation (What does this mean?)

I have know Lahuma for at least 3 years. She is a very driven young lady who has shown her dedication to being a good mother despite the barriers she has faced. She has completed a mentoring program, obtained her GED and has done so while single-handedly taking care of her 3 small children. Lahuma is not only dependable , responsible and caring of others she is also very mature beyond her years. She would be a access to any profession she chooses. I am not surprised at her desire to become a health care professional. Any assistance for her in reaching her goal would be a step to helping to produce a positive member for our society. I have every confidence that she will succeed.

About Verona

I work for the Department of Probation in NYC. My job title is Probation Officer. I am a change agent for youth at risk. I supervise and assist them with the life tools needed to refrain from recidivism. My goal is to minimize the incarceration of our young people and guide them to become… Read more