Cassie from Chicago, IL

I'm moving to a new apartment and starting school; I need furniture for my family

My kids and I spent a year without furniture and now that we're able to move into an apartment of our own, I need to make my home family friendly.


I need furniture for my new apartment. This includes a sofa and love seat, chairs, and a bed.

Meeting this need will help me because my family will be much happier and we will have the things to fill up our apartment and it will feel more like home.

My goal is to obtain my degree in Early Childhood Education so that I can work towards reaching my optimal goal of working in day care and later owning my own day care. I am planning to begin an Associate Degree program in January 2014. By having furniture I will feel more comfortable studying at home and spending more time with my children.

My current situation is I am living in a transitional housing unit with my family since we relocated from Mississippi to Chicago. I'm moving into our own apartment and I don't have any furniture. My kids have to sit on the floor when they play with their friends. We sit on the floor when we eat dinner. It would make my home more family friendly if we had furniture, because we would be able to do more family activities together.

I'm from Lexington, Mississippi and now I live Chicago, IL.

I'm most proud of completing high school because most people around me did not.

Something interesting about me is one day I want to open my own child care facility. I'm happiest when I'm with my children, because they make me feel so loved. I have 3 children, ages 11, 10 and 7 months. They are all enrolled into an educational program and are doing well.

I love working and taking care of people and hope to find employment soon.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Cassie fund this need.

$505of $505

Need funded!

8 supporters


This need has been validated by Tiffany from The Children's Place Association

Recent supporters

  1. $25
  2. $100
  3. $35
  4. $50
  5. $20
  6. $100
  7. $100
  8. $75


Validated by Tiffany from The Children's Place Association (What does this mean?)

I met Cassie when I began providing services to the Children's Place supportive housing program participants, in October 2012.

I think meeting this need is important because Cassie works so hard to make sure that her children are well taken care of with the little that she has to offer financially. And despite her difficulties of finding and maintaining employment, she continues to be driven and motivated to be the best provider to her family as she possibly can be. She recently obtained employment, and was traveling well over an hour each day to get to work. This job ended abruptly at no fault of Cassie. She is now seeking employment again.

Cassie has recently enrolled into an employment training program to assist her in securing employment. She is very dedicated and driven to find work so that she can do all the things for her family that she dreams about.

About Tiffany

My job title is Family Success Coach. My work involves assisting families with increasing their financial well-being through motiviating them to obtain employment, increasing their financial literacy skills (budgeting, banking and savings), as well as helping them to become better advocates for… Read more