Tasha from Detroit, MI

Got a job to help stabilize my family but need help taking care of their basic needs

I have a job and am looking to move my family out of our cramped conditions. Two beds and a couch will bring comfort now and moving forward.


Blessings from Tasha Jun 4, 2014

Tasha gave her validator a handwritten note expressing her thanks. It reads, "I would like to thank all of those who donated to help me and my family. I really am thankful and so are my kids. I wish all of you nothing but the best. THANK YOU and may God continue to bless you all! Yours Truly, Tasha"


I'm originally from Arkansas but moved to Detroit from Georgia to be with my partner and build a family. I stay with my girlfriend and my kids and stepson in a one-bedroom apartment. Since posting to this site, I found a job and got my first paycheck a few weeks ago! Now that I'm working I am saving what I can to move my family to a larger home. Initially living in a one-bedroom was our only option since we were living off a limited income. While my job still can't provide everything, we are trying to make the best of the situation until we can save enough to afford a larger place.

My goal is to eventually go back to school to get my GED and become a nurse to give my kids a better life than what we have right now. My first priority, however, is to provide for my kids and make them as comfortable as possible given our current circumstances.

Beds, a couch and household items would provide comfort while I save what I can to move my family out of our cramped conditions. When we move to a larger home we can take these items with us. They will be very helpful in providing comfort in our new home.

Meeting these needs will help me because I don't have anything to call my own. It would mean the world to me not just to my kids to have furniture to sleep and sit on. It's been so long since we've slept in beds. I just want my children to be comfortable until we can move on to better and bigger things.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Tasha fund this need.

$830of $780

Need funded!

6 supporters


This need has been validated by Paula from Black Family Development

Recent supporters

  1. $10
  2. $10
  3. $20
  4. $10
  5. $20
  6. $760



Validated by Paula from Black Family Development (What does this mean?)

I met Tasha when she was added to my case load about 2 months ago. She recently moved from Gerogia and was financially unable until she recently found work. Now she is able to provide for the basic needs for her family and is looking to save money to move them out of their one-bedroom apartment. I think meeting this need is important because her children will be able to sleep comfortably at night instead of sleeping on the floor. I think this will provide some sense of security to their current situation until they are able to move.

About Paula

I am a Case Manager at Black Family Develompent. I am responsible for linking clients with resources in the community through the Promise Neighborhoods Program. Promise Neighborhoods' vision is ensure that all children in the Detroit Clark Park/Osborn Neighborhoods have access to excellent… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');