Angelica from Chicago, IL

Single mom in need of basic household supplies to make a better life for my kids!

Because our apartment is not properly heated and I'm between jobs to care for my son, I need help with bedding and a few household items for my kids.


I am a single mother of three children - one being special needs. Currently I am in school to become a Certified Nurses' Assistant. I recently lost my job due to cuts at the company.

My goals are to finish school as a Certified Nurses' Assistant then return to school to become a Registered Nurse. I feel that as a nurse, I will be able to support my children and give them a better life than what I had growing up. Currently, my son with special needs is requiring additional care with the new school year, so I am unable to work. However, once he is stable, I plan on finding a new job.

I am in need of bedding, blankets and household items. Our apartment is not properly heated throughout the winter season and it is hard on my children. Due to my job rapidly coming to an end and the extra support my special needs child is requiring right now, I am unable to work and provide these items.

Meeting this need will help me because my children will be warm this winter and I will be able to focus on getting my son the proper care he need.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Angelica fund this need.

$400of $400

Need funded!

8 supporters


This need has been validated by Erica from Lincoln Park Community Services

Recent supporters

  1. $100
  2. $35
  3. $50
  4. $50
  5. $35
  6. $50
  7. $35
  8. $45



Validated by Erica from Lincoln Park Community Services (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Angelica for the last 5 years. I first started working with her when she was a teenage living in a shelter for homeless teen moms. Since then she has gotten her own apartment and has been stable. However, due to a recent wave of events and caring for her special needs child, she is currently in need of some household winter items to ensure that her children are properly cared for. Because of the small income she receives for her child, she is able to maintain her housing however, she is not able to provided other much-needed items at this time. Once her son becomes stable in his new school, she will be able to return back to work and provide better for her children.

About Erica

My job title is Supportive Service Manager. My work involves providing comprehensive case management services to homeless men and women within the Chicago area. My goal is to assist them in becoming self-sufficient so that they can financially support themselves, obtain adequate housing, and become… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');