Kelle

Kelle from BRONX, NEW YORK

Trying to find work w/ a recent disability; I need help buying office-ready clothes.

An accident left my right arm disabled. My medication caused me to gain weight; I need help to buy new outfits so I can look professional at work.

My need and situation

I am 24 years old. Recently, I was in a car accident, which has left me disabled in my right dominant arm. I am not able to write as much, or do any extracurricular activities. I have been denied disability benefits, but I am trying to re-apply. I am also unemployed. which has been a big change in my life. Due to both the medications that I am taking and my depression, I have gained a lot of weight resulting in none of my clothing fitting me. The Woman’s Prison Association has been helping me find employment for people with a disability.

My goals are to once again become independent. I have lost my confidence. I want to also be able to work again even if it is part time, so I am able to keep positive and regain my confidence, and the strength to move forward with my disability.

I need money for new clothing due to my medication that has caused me to gain a lot of weight. I need blouses, under garments, pants, Jeans and professional dresses. I have been struggling to afford clothing for myself as plus size stores are expensive.

Meeting this need will help me because it will help me buy clothing, and be ready to attend interviews. I feel that having support in this area will help me getmy life back in control.

$0of $400

0%

Be the first to help

84 days remaining

Support

Validated

This need has been validated by PO Dueno from NYC Department of Probation


PO Dueno

Validated

Validated by PO Dueno from NYC Department of Probation (What does this mean?)

I am the probation officer of Kelle. I describe Kelle as someone who has made bad choices, but is willing to begin to make better ones. She is very respectful, compliant and humble. She has lost a lot in the recent times, which has left her disabled. She has lost her apartment and her ability to financially support herself. She is very driven and hard working. I see a lot of potential in her, and I motivate and support her as needed. I have referred her to mentoring groups and therapy to help her overcome her struggles.

About PO Dueno

I work at the NYC Dept. of Probation. My work involves working with youth ages 16-24. As my role, I assist with helping probationers gain the necessary tools they need in order to support themselves and their families in the communities they live. I also help them remain out of trouble so they do… Read more