Sandra from Berkeley, CA

I am disabled from polio & I need a wheelchair for mobility, safety, & independence

I have limited mobility, miss my appointments, and cannot go out in public or do grocery shopping. A wheelchair will help in all aspects of my life.

My need and situation

I'm from Bakersfield, CA, and I live in Berkeley, CA. Something interesting about me is that I love reggae music and know a lot of reggae artists. I'm happiest when I am listening to music. I'm most proud of my new granddaughter.

I need a extra-wide, standard manual wheelchair. Meeting this need will help me because I will be able to make it to my appointments. It will keep me from isolating myself, by allowing me to get out into the public. In addition it will provide some safety, because it will keep me from falling. My goal is to become more active and at least get out into the public once a week. I would like to become a member of my local senior center as well as be able to do my own grocery shopping.

My current situation is I have no wheelchair and it is almost impossible for me to get around. I am incapable of making it to most of my appointments due to this. It affects how well I maintain my health. I will continue to gain weight without the ability to leave my house and properly shop for food rather than eat fast foods that are unhealthy.

I have a daughter who has an extreme illness having to do with her stomach. My daughter has to consume food through tubes and has to adhere to a special diet. I have overcome many issues with my health. I was born afflicted with Polio and have major mobility issues due to this fact.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Sandra fund this need.

$390of $390

Need funded!

7 supporters

Validated

This need has been validated by Andrea from Berkeley Food and Housing Project


Recent supporters

  1. $20
  2. $100
  3. $50
  4. $10
  5. $100
  6. $110

Validated

Validated by Andrea from Berkeley Food and Housing Project (What does this mean?)

We met when Sandra became my client in 2011. I think meeting this need is important because this will improve her quality of life, her health, and will help with her self-esteem.

She is a wonderful lady in spite of her illness she has a positive disposition and is polite to everyone.

About Andrea

My job title is Shelter + Care Case Manager. My work involves providing case management for clients that are receiving a housing subsidy from the government. What I like about my job is being able to assist clients to improve the quality of their life. I also enjoy helping people become… Read more