Sarah from Brooklyn, NY

On my path toward stability. A winter coat will help me keep warm on the job!

I am going to be doing hard work outside for the next 6 months. I need a heavy winter work coat and winter clothes to keep warm.


I am a hard-working mother, friend, sister and family member. I was recently incarcerated in New York City and have been working hard since my release to find stable work and housing. I am currently living in a transitional housing residence for women. I was recently placed in a 6 month transitional employment program with the Department of Sanitation, which I am very excited about. I am also taking GED classes.

My goals are to find stable housing for me and my kids now that I am on the path to stable employment. I am also currently working toward earning my GED. I would eventually like to go to school for culinary arts once my housing and work situations are more stable.

I am going to be doing hard work outside for the next 6 months. I need a heavy winter work coat, heavy duty work pants and shirts, thermal underwear and work boots for my new job.

Meeting this need will help me because I will be able to function doing hard work outside during the fall and winter. This is an incredible employment opportunity for me and will help me on the path to stable employment.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Sarah fund this need.

$250of $250

Need funded!

3 supporters


This need has been validated by Laura from The Women's Project

Recent supporters

  1. $35
  2. $190



Validated by Laura from The Women's Project (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Sarah for the past few months. She is an incredibly hard-working, resilient, diligent person and committed sister and mother. She is an active participant in our program. Our role is to coordinate services for women coming out of jail and ensure they have the support they need to return to court to actively participate in their defense, as well as provide a community for women. Sarah stays in touch with us weekly and attends our self-care and self-advocacy workshops 2-4 times a month. She is a welcome part of our community and she is doing very well. It would be great to see her hard work pay off with permanent employment and this clothing will be a great step in the right direction.

About Laura

I am a Social Worker at the Women's Project at FedCap Rehabilitation Services, which is an alternative to pre-trial detention program and community of women.