Tee from Detroit, MI

I'm a grandpa and in college! A bed will help me rest, reduce pain & thrive in class

I'm currently sleeping on an air mattress. A bed will provide me with the proper rest so I can function to the best of my ability.


Tee is resting better and finishing up classes Aug 5, 2014

Tee's validator sent in an update regarding Tee:

"Tee has a bed thanks to your generous support! He is resting better at night and excited about finishing classes soon. Your support really gave him the encouragement he needed to keep pushing ahead. Thank You!"


My name is Tee and I'm from Detroit. I have 3 boys and 3 girls and 7 grandchildren - 4 girls and 3 boys. I live by myself in an apartment and have everything I need to provide for myself except for a mattress and dresser. I have not been able to save up enough money to purchase these items that have fallen last on my list of necessities.

I am currently working on my Associates Degree. My goal is to complete my classes this year so that I can up my chances of finding employment. Thanks to COTS things are getting better in my life. I am looking forward to the future.

I need a bed and dresser to rest on at night and store my clothes in. This will remove the need for me to constantly bend to get clothes off the floor and to lay on the floor.

Meeting this need will help me because I will be able to rest at night and not wake up to a sore body. I am older and have mobility issues. Sleeping on an air mattress has taken a toll on my body and my days are full of pain.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Tee fund this need.

$555of $505

Need funded!

5 supporters


This need has been validated by Monica from Coalition On Temporary Shelter

Recent supporters

  1. $20
  2. $10
  3. $15
  4. $10
  5. $500


Validated by Monica from Coalition On Temporary Shelter (What does this mean?)

I met Tee as a shelter guest last year. I think meeting this need is important because he is sleeping on an air mattress and has health issues. It's already hard for him but to sleep on the floor is making things worse. Any support you could provide would be appreciated.

About Monica

I am a Case Planner for COTS Shelter Plus Care Program. My job includes assessing the needs of at risk consumers for the permanent supportive housing program. I provide case management, assist with resource, life skills, and support for individuals and families towards a life of self-sufficiency. … Read more