Venus from Bronx, NY

I'm a mom of 3 with fibromyalgia. 1 certification will help me start my own business!

I would like to be able to work for myself in order to become more financially independent, and set a positive example in my children's lives.


I am originally from Milwaukee, WI and I had moved to New York with my three young children, who are identical twin girls Erica and Gabriell and my very active son Adrian, who all are living with mental health issues. We are currently living in our first apartment together for the first time in 5 years, and are trying to succeed her in NYC.

I would like to be able to work for myself in order to become more financially independent, and set a positive example in my children's lives to show that I am not limited by my disability.

Due to my medical diagnosis of fibromyalgia, and my children's special needs, I am unable to work a regular 9-5 job. This has been very disheartening to me because I really love working and advocating for other people with disabilities. Since I am deemed unemployable by most businesses, I would like to start my own business, where I will be able to work at my own pace that can fit mine and my family's schedule. In order to start my business, I need to apply for my certification with Legalshield.

Meeting this need will help me and my family because I will not only be more financially independent, it will set a good example for my children to follow, as well as, empower myself to be able to work through my disability and still achieve my goals.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Venus fund this need.

$300of $300

Need funded!

1 supporter


This need has been validated by Samuel from Barrier Free Living, Inc.

Recent supporters

  1. $300



Validated by Samuel from Barrier Free Living, Inc. (What does this mean?)

I have been working with Meagan for over six months now at our Supportive Housing facility. Through our interactions, Meagan has shown to be a hard working, self-driven individual who regularly has put other's, including her family's needs in front of her own. Meagan has been working towards her goals to become more independent, and could really use this assistance to get her to where she needs to be financially so that she can be in a better financial situation.

About Samuel

I am a Social Worker in NYC, working with single-parent families and survivors of domestic violence. At our supportive housing program, we help connect our tenants to various mental health and vocational services, as well as, offer groups and individual counseling to help assist our tenants to… Read more

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');