Stephanie from Detroit, MI

No longer homeless and working PT. Need help with furniture for my kids.

I'm working part time & all my money goes towards bills. Living and dining room furniture will allow me & my daughters to eat & relax together.


Ms. Tyus is so pleased! Apr 15, 2014

Ms. Tyus picked out a beautiful couch with the funds that she received. She has expressed a sincere appreciation for the support she received. We here at COTS truly appreciate this site and the donors.


I'm from Detroit. Something interesting about me is I love to help people. I'm happiest when others are being served and I just started by own transportation company. I have four beautiful daughters ages 7-16 years. I'm most proud of my children.

My goal is to spend more time with my daughters and bring a sense of safety and security to our household. I used to be homeless but now have stable housing and am working part-time. My fixed income only allows me to pay bills, which can be a little overwhelming at times. I don't have room in my budget to save for furniture but I really want to bring my family back together again now that we have stable housing. It's been hard because there is nothing for us to gather around and keep us there. Thank you so much for your consideration and for helping others.

I need a dining room table and living room furniture. This includes a table with four chairs, a couch and love seat.

Meeting this need will help me because it will allow my family an opportunity to dine together and rest as a family. Right now we come home and there is nothing that keeps us together because we do not have furniture.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Stephanie fund this need.

$786of $780

Need funded!

5 supporters


This need has been validated by Tanya from Coalition On Temporary Shelter

Recent supporters

  1. $35
  2. $1
  3. $50
  4. $680


Validated by Tanya from Coalition On Temporary Shelter (What does this mean?)

We met in March 2013 when Stephanie was housed in our program. 

I think meeting this need is important because Stephanie is working hard to re-establish a relationship with her children and improve her life.

She is very cooperative and working on enrolling in college and identifying gainful employment.

About Tanya

My job title is Case Planner. My work involves home visits, counseling, case planning, and case management. What I like about my job is helping people and seeing them overcome obstacles they didn't believe they could.