Mama Nic from Detroit, MI

No longer homeless! Family needs a washer & dryer to make cleaning clothes easier

I don't have a car, so it's hard to get to the laundromat. I've been handwashing our clothes. A washer and dryer will free up my time to job hunt.


Mama Nic's getting her washer and dryer! Dec 8, 2014

Mama Nic needed a washer and dryer for her new home. Then she discovered she had bed bugs, so with the money she is able to get her home exterminated and still able to received her washer and dryer. Expected delivery date for the appliances is 12/12/2014.


People know me as Mama Nic. I am from Detroit and have three daughters ages 22, 18 and 2. I recently moved into a new place that did not come with a washer or a dryer. I don't have a car right now so it has been very difficult getting to the laundromat, which is not close to where I live. Right now I am hand washing clothes which takes a lot of time. I can only do so much in the time that I have which isn't enough.

My goal is to find a job. Before that happens I have to provide for my children the best I can.

A washer and dryer will allow me to do so and free up my time so that I can focus on finding a job and not stressing over clothes and keeping them clean.

Meeting this need will help me because I can keep more clothes clean at any given time which helps relieve stress and guarantees my kids go to school with clean clothes on a daily basis.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Mama Nic fund this need.

$780of $780

Need funded!

4 supporters


This need has been validated by Celia from Coalition On Temporary Shelter

Recent supporters

  1. $50
  2. $100
  3. $20
  4. $610



Validated by Celia from Coalition On Temporary Shelter (What does this mean?)

I met Nic about a year ago when she was transferred to my caseload. I think meeting this need is important because she is formerly homeless and now only has income from family. She is in the process of rebuilding her life and family's life. She needs a washer and dryer to maintain clean clothing for her household. Her girls are successful full-time students.

About Celia

My Job title is Case Planner. I help clients with housing, case management , like skills.