Joe from Queens, New York

I'm homeless & work as a foot messenger. With an electric bike I could make more!

I've been a messenger for over 15 years. With an electric bike I could make more deliveries and get a second job on weekends.


I am a 57 year old foot messenger. I've been a foot messenger for over 15 years. I'm a hard worker and looking forward to getting into the food industry.

My current goal is to maintain full time gainful employment, but my future goal is to work in the food industry as a chef and obtain permanent housing. I currently live in a men's shelter.

I need an electric bike so that I can be more efficient in making deliveries. Having an electric bike will allow me to make more deliveries and will also allow me to get a second delivery job on the weekends

Meeting this need will help me because it will open up more delivery employment options for me. It will also give me the opportunity to earn more money so that I can move out the shelter and obtain a place of my own.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Joe fund this need.

$305of $525

Need funded!

6 supporters


This need has been validated by PO Phillip from NYC Department of Probation

Recent supporters

  1. $35
  2. $35
  3. $50
  4. $50
  5. $35
  6. $100

PO Phillip


Validated by PO Phillip from NYC Department of Probation (What does this mean?)

I have known Joe for more than 3 months now. My first impressions of Joe was that he is someone who is driven to succeed. He has admitted that he has made some mistakes in the past, but he is committed to change his life for the positive. Joe comes across as a quiet individual who is determined to work so that he can move out the shelter. Joe also spends time with his mother and helps her out with chores around her house.

About PO Phillip

Probation officer, I've been a probation officer for 1 year and I enjoy helping people

< script > window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){ dataLayer.push(arguments); } gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-179510775-1');