Sala from Inkster, MI

Working & supporting my family. I need my driver's license to go back to school.

Right now I'm working but my goal is to go back to college. With a driver's license, I'll be able to get there, and get my kids where they need to be.


I'm from Inkster, Michigan, just outside the city of Detroit. I live with my children in a rental house that I pay for on my own.

My goal is to go back to college and enter a medical field, either nursing or to be an X-ray technician. Right now I am working very hard at a 35 hours job that took me a long time to get, but I didn't give up. I love my job but I know I need a much better income to support myself and my children. Making sure my children do well in school is my other job. That means lots of homework time in the evenings. On top of that, I also have to take care of my house and other responsibilities. Getting a driver's license will help ease some of the stress I'm under at this point and allow me to meet the needs of my life's daily requirements.

My current situation is I have a car but don't have a driver's license. On top of that, I don't have anyone to depend on to get me back and forth to work, appointments, the grocery store or school. There is no easy and dependable public transportation where I live so moving around town is very difficult at times. I've put going back to school on hold until I can get my driver's license, because it would be too much to manage without a car.

Something interesting about me is that I love to learn. As I've gotten older, I find that I love to soak in new skills and knowledge, no matter what it is. I'm happiest when I'm with my children. They keep me going and are very motivating. I don't where I'd be without them. I'm most proud of my children and myself. I like that about me...that I take on challenges and don't stop until I achieve them. I'm also very proud of my children who, to me, are exceptional. I have four children, one daughter and three sons. I do love them dearly. My oldest sons are older teens, and my daughter is 8 years old and my youngest son is 4.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Sala fund this need.

$280of $280

Need funded!

13 supporters


This need has been validated by Valerie from Starfish Family Services

Recent supporters

  1. $10
  2. $10
  3. $20
  4. $20
  5. $10
  6. $50
  7. $35
  8. $45


Validated by Valerie from Starfish Family Services (What does this mean?)

I met Sala when she joined my GED class about 8 years ago. She was a dedicated student. who has beat the odds. Despite a very difficult childhood, she has a winning personality and the determination to do what needs to be done. What has always set her apart is the fact that she has the inner strength to work toward goals despite a lack of family and financial support. She is a totally awesome person!

I think meeting this need is important because Sala is not able to go to college at this time due to the fact that she needs a driver's license. Though she manages to get to work and to most appointments, getting to college would be much too difficult since she already relies on some people for transportation and there is no efficient public transportation.

About Valerie

My job title is Family Advocate. My work involves working with people in poverty to help them become more self-sufficient by linking them to resources. What I like about my job is that it is always interesting! Every family I work with is obviously different, and I have had the honor of getting to… Read more