Richard from Chicago, IL

I'm regaining my health and I need a pair of good shoes to get to Drs appointments and do workouts

With a good pair of shoes, I can walk to the Dr. and do workouts that rebuild my health. Once I'm healthy, I can work as a court docket clerk again.


Richard got his shoes! He says . . . Aug 29, 2013

It was quite beautiful having my need met! The shoes are great, I even used them this morning at the gym. Thank you so very much!!

Thanks from Claire: Aug 29, 2013

The LIFT team was blown away that within 24 hours of posting Richard's need it was completely funded! Richard has been such a joy to work with and it's so wonderful to have him completely prepared to reenter the workforce!! Thank you for your generosity and kindness with helping Richard reach his goal!!


I want to stay healthy, and I need a pair of decent shoes. I need shoes to get to my appointments and to do physical workouts. This includes the price of the shoes, taxes and shipping.

Right now, my biggest challenge is that I currently only own one pair of shoes and I really need a good pair. I am an active person, and I give myself a full day schedule of things to do. I am out all day and usually do not get home till 7 pm.

Meeting this need will help me because it will allow me to have a full day's schedule and a full day of activity. I can make my appointments if I am able to walk there and maintain my health.

My current situation is that I am 66 years old, and my feet have been through a lot. I have worked construction and have worn steel toed boots and my feet are hurting. I have worked most of my life but because of health issues I haven't been able to work recently. I need to walk to most of my doctor appointments as well as work out to maintain my health.

My goal is to remain healthy so I can rejoin the workforce as a court docket clerk. I have previously worked over 10 years doing this.

I think of myself mostly as a retired man, trying to reconnect with mainstream society. I'm hoping to possibly rejoin the work force and try to connect with the community. I want to remain relevant.

I'm most proud of my children, who are wonderful members of the community. They are effective parents, law abiding citizens, and working hard. They all finished high school, a college graduate, one in college, and one retired from the military after serving in Afghanistan. I have 9 grandchildren, who I would love to see, located in Atlanta and Virginia.

I've worked at jobs including court docket clerk, construction, truck driving.

Something interesting about me is I used to race 8 man racing shells in college.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Richard fund this need.

$135of $105

Need funded!

3 supporters


This need has been validated by Claire from LIFT-Chicago

Recent supporters

  1. $10
  2. $100
  3. $25


Validated by Claire from LIFT-Chicago (What does this mean?)

I have known Richard since April of this year, we have had weekly meetings ever since. Richard originally came in to prepare for rejoining the workforce, after battling some serious health issues.

I think meeting this need is important because it is important to Richard to stay active especially to maintain his health. He also wants to remain a vital part of his community and does not want his age and ability to prevent him from doing so. Richard walks to nearly all his appointments and he also needs to maintain a certain workout to remain healthy.

This will move the recipient's life forward by providing him with the tools to be as healthy as he can be. Ultimately Richard would like to rejoin the work force as a court docket clerk, however, maintaining his health is especially important before he can do this. Richard has been especially wonderful to work with, he is hard working and always prepared and is incredibly motivated. Although he can't rejoin the workforce for a few more months, we have already prepared different resumes and cover letters that he sent out when he is healthier.

About Claire

My job title is Advocate and Housing Intern. I have been in this position since August 2012, when I joined as an Employment Intern. My work involves meeting with low-income individuals and assisting them with their individualized goal plans. This means assisting them in a wide range of ways, not… Read more