Leslie from Chicago, IL

In an entry-level job but want to become a manager. I need a laptop to improve my skills.

A laptop will improve my computer competency & increase my chances of getting a promotion. I could also use it to help my son with his homework.


Leslie Got a Printer to go with her Laptop! Feb 4, 2014

Thanks again to everyone!  This experience has been such a blessing.

Leslie wanted to share her thanks: Jan 12, 2014

I am very grateful and thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping to make my need a reality. You have given me great joy... May God bless you and keep you now and always.

Leslie's working as an assistant manager for the season! Dec 10, 2013

Lauren just reached out to let us know the good news that Leslie's been assigned a trial assistant manager position. If she's permanently promoted after the holiday season, she'll need a laptop for an additional reason: scheduling and managerial work at her store is all online.


I need a basic laptop computer and Microsoft Office Suite. I think having a laptop will be great for us so that we can work on his school work together when he is with me on the weekends, and even play games and watch movies together since I do not have a television. It will also be great for me to improve my computer competency.

I look forward to having custody of my son again, so it's important that we bond and have our time together until then. Right now I work in an entry-level sales position at a department store, but within months of being hired as seasonal, I was promoted to permanent. Now most recently I have become full time. There are talks about a manager track in store for me, and having a computer would allow me to improve my skills on computers which are limited.

My current situation is that I have just recently celebrated 15 months of clean time. I've gone through all of the stages of redevelopment. I am in the process of getting my own place (waiting on the lease to be signed as a matter of fact). When I move, I will be able to have my son over for weekends and my days off of work.

I have two children, a grown adult daughter and an 11 year old son.

I'm from Chicago -- born and raised on the south side. I now live on the west side of Chicago in my new apartment.

I'm most proud of my children.

Something interesting about me is I am outgoing. I will always defend the underdog and strive for what's right. I swear I could have been a lawyer.

I'm happiest when I am enjoying a moment of peace with my family. We've endured a lot together, but love each other too.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Leslie fund this need.

$560of $560

Need funded!

6 supporters


This need has been validated by Lauren from The Cara Program

Recent supporters

  1. $25
  2. $200
  3. $50
  4. $100
  5. $100
  6. $85


Validated by Lauren from The Cara Program (What does this mean?)

We met when Leslie began our program in April of 2012. While she was active in our traditional program--prior to getting employed--she was known for her positive attitude and her outgoing nature. She was great at motivating other students and propelling herself forward. Now I work with Leslie once a month; we meet to discuss work, goals, finances, and family among other things.

I think meeting this need is important because it will not only help her personally, but also professionally--she has the ability to spend engaging quality time with her son and also perfect her abilities and skills as an employee with merely one machine!

About Lauren

My job title is Individual Development Specialist, a combination of a job coach and case manager. I have been in this position since September 2011. My work involves providing career coaching and generalized case management services for individuals who have just become employed to ensure progress… Read more