Lisa from Charlotte, NC

I'm a mom needing to get my medical assistant diploma to move forward

I need help in getting my medical assistant diploma from Kaplan College so I can secure and maintain employment.


I'm very ambitious. I've overcome a lot of hardships in my life. I try to stay positive for my children and I also want to stay productive so I can be a good example to them.

I have finished all my required classes for my diploma, but there is a gap left that my student loans didn't cover which made it impossible for me to pay the fees to receive my diploma. I am currently having a hard time securing employment because a lot of people require you to have a diploma. I can secure a job in the field in which I went to school for. My goal is to establish security within a stable work environment that is well established with opportunity to grow within the company.

Getting this need met would open up so many doors for me. Within the next 5 years, I would like to be working at a prestigious doctor's office as a medical assistant.

I'm from Wilmington, North Carolina. I've lived in Charlotte for the last four years. Something interesting about me is that I love to help people. I'm happiest when I'm with my children. I'm most proud of graduating from Kaplan College. I'm a single mother of two children, a girl and a boy. They are 12 and 3 years old.

Need funded!

Thank you for helping Lisa fund this need.

$1042of $725

Need funded!

11 supporters


This need has been validated by Derrick from Urban League of Central Carolinas, Inc.

Recent supporters

  1. $10
  2. $35
  3. $10
  4. $100
  5. $100
  6. $50
  7. $200
  8. $35
  9. $500


Validated by Derrick from Urban League of Central Carolinas, Inc. (What does this mean?)

I've known Lisa since she's been at the Urban League. Meeting this need will definitely open things up for her in a major way. She's done the work, but needs help in securing the actual document.

About Derrick

My job title is DSS Job Readiness Program Instructor with Urban League of Central Carolinas. My work involves instructing a job readiness program specifically for individuals who are a part of the Department of Social Services Work First program. What I like about my job is the difference that… Read more